16 Comments
Oct 7, 2023Liked by Anastasia Allison

I am wondering if anyone has experience with reading deprivation week from "The Artist's Way" (also called media deprivation week). It was a big shift for me to not listen to podcasts or audiobooks for a whole week ("silent" walks!) and to avoid books and articles!

Expand full comment

As I have a lot of your kula diaries emails to catch up with I post here pretty late 🙂

Isn't 'doing one thing at a time' pretty close of the mindfulness principle? Being in the present moment (hello Eckart 👋). To me it is all the same.

For instance when I wash the dishes with a busy mind, the task is boring, it only feels like a chore, and I am eager to already be somewhere else, doing something else. But if I am only washing the dishes, then I am fully aware of why I am doing it, grateful for the purpose those dirty dishes served, and I can just enjoy doing a good job washing them 🙂

Keep rocking Anastasia

All the best from France ✌️

Guillaume

Expand full comment

This is blowing my mind! I don’t think I’ve ever tried doing one thing at a time 🤯. So counterintuitive to think it will help me get more done, but I’m excited to give it a try!

Expand full comment

I second that comment about eating! I am always either reading or scrolling during meals. I am conscious of it, but it’s so hard to break the habit. When my daughter is home, we don’t do this; we talk through meals. But I’m alone a lot now. I’m guilty of the multi-tasking at work too. I get easily distracted by a hundred thoughts at once. So I keep to-do lists so I don’t forget anything. This is a great topic! Can’t wait to hear more!

Expand full comment

I just turned 65 so I am one of the last Boomers. My generation came up with the idea of multi-tasking. We had so much to do with our careers and families and outsider activities that we were sure that we could master doing more than one thing at a time. (I repeatedly forgot the cooking pots when we were camping. Repeatedly.) There were articles written, symposiums hosted, seminars attended to help us to master this simple approach to life. You were seen as a failure if you couldn’t effectively multi-task. I had lists of my lists. I was a failure despite all my attempts.

Subsequent research has shown that multi-tasking does not work. When trying to do several things at once, you end up with nothing done well. In my life, I have given up on multi-tasking. Have you ever tried to feed an infant while holding a conference call for work and packing for a trip? Doesn’t work.

Now I focus on one thing at a time. I feel better knowing that whatever I did, I did with total focus on the one item in the list. I am happier. The recipient of my focus is happier. I feel actual contentedness at the end of the day. Yes, contentedness. I feel content. Enjoy your focus on just one thing at a time.

Expand full comment

My worst struggle is when I’m eating. I’m reading the news while eating breakfast or playing Wordle while eating lunch. I would like to get better at just eating and taking time to be thankful for the nourishment. This is a good reminder to keep trying!! Thanks Anastasia for offering this space amd these reminders!

Expand full comment

I really struggle with this! Some of it is my job - where I have to task switch all the time, so the thought of doing only one thing seems very counterproductive.

Currently, I'm typing this, but pseudo looking at the graphs on the other monitor.

Even when I go on my daily 15 minute walk, I'm usually listening to a podcast.

Expand full comment